Has Adkins got to know his players?

paddy20
Hob Nob Regular

Has Adkins got to know his players?

by paddy20 » 24 Aug 2013 19:41

One of the reasons for appointing Adkins when we did was to allow him to get to know the players so as we could start the new season running. Sadly that doesn't seem to have happened. Otherwise why would he persist with Kanu? Why would he think that Blackman should start ahead of Alfie? Why wouldn't a fit Kebe get on the bench? Why wouldn't he try and motivate Pog to play ( he is better than anything we have as a big striker even if he may leave). What would you think if you were put on for 4 mins. Why does he play two big centre halfs who have the turning circle of a supertanker when we have our best defender making the trip to Blackpool but not even on the bench? I think a lot of the players and fans are mystified so far. Its early days but if I was a teacher I might say - must do better!!

yappy

Re: Has Adkins got to know his players?

by yappy » 24 Aug 2013 19:51

Don't understand the Kanu hate, he was one of our better players last season & was very impressive in Adkins' stint at the end of the season.

Anyways football is a game of opinions, and people will always question the manager's decisions. Adkins works with these players day in day out, so is more qualified to make decisions. It's clear he still wants to strengthen, and he is trying to get us playing better football. I'm still totally 100% behind Adkins.

Judge Drenthe

by Judge Drenthe » 24 Aug 2013 20:00

HRK has been good in spits and spurts, but never shown any consistancy. He didn't deserve a bumper new deal to stay here IMO. Either accept the initial terms offered (which he rejected) or we should have let him go. Adkins obviously bought into that he can develop, and maybe he can - lets hope so, but he is very average currently and over-hyped because of a couple of decent performances last season!

kwik-silva
Hob Nob Regular

by kwik-silva » 24 Aug 2013 20:03