Reading Football Club News: June 2022

New Reading FC Fixture List In Full

23 June 2022
By Hob Nob Anyone?

Sat 30 July Blackpool Championship A
Sat 6 August Cardiff City Championship H
Sat 13 August Rotherham Championship A
Tue 16 August Blackburn Rovers Championship H
Sat 20 August Middlesbrough Championship H
Sat 27 August Millwall Championship A
Wed 31 August Sheffield United Championship A
Sat 3 September Stoke City Championship H
Sat 10 September Watford Championship A
Wed 14 September Sunderland Championship H
Sat 17 September Wigan Championship A
Sat 1 October Huddersfield Town Championship H
Tue 4 October Norwich City Championship H
Sat 8 October Queens Park Rangers Championship A
Sat 15 October West Bromwich Albion Championship H
Tue 18 October Swansea City Championship A
Sat 22 October Bristol City Championship H
Sat 29 October Burnley Championship A
Tue 1 November Luton Town Championship A
Sat 5 November Preston North End Championship H
Sat 12 November Hull City Championship A
Sat 10 December Coventry City Championship H
Sat 17 December Birmingham City Championship A
Mon 26 December Swansea City Championship H
Thu 29 December Norwich City Championship A
Sun 1 January West Bromwich Albion Championship A
Sat 14 January Queens Park Rangers Championship H
Sat 21 January Stoke City Championship A
Sat 28 January Sheffield United Championship H
Sat 4 February Watford Championship H
Sat 11 February Sunderland Championship A
Tue 14 February Rotherham United Championship H
Sat 18 February Cardiff City Championship A
Sat 25 February Blackpool Championship H
Sat 4 March Middlesbrough Championship A
Sat 11 March Millwall Championship H
Wed 15 March Blackburn Rovers Championship A
Sat 18 March Hull City Championship H
Sat 1 April Bristol City Championship A
Fri 7 April Birmingham Championship H
Mon 10 April Preston North End Championship A
Sat 15 April Burnley Championship H
Wed 19 April Luton Town Championship H
Sat 22 April Coventry City Championship A
Sat 29 April Wigan Championship H
Sat 6 May Huddersfield Town Championship A

Reading Start Season With Trip To Blackpool

23 June 2022
By Hob Nob Anyone?

Reading will start the new 2022/2023 Championship season with an away trip to Blackpool on Saturday 30 July. The season kicks off early, in July, due to the winter world cup and sees the Royals play their first home match the following Saturday against Cardiff City. There is a gap in fixtures in the second part of November and early December.

The Royals are home on Boxing Day as Swansea City visit the Select Car Leasing Stadium. The last game of the season is a long away trip to Huddersfield Town on Saturday 6 May.

Fixture list in full published on the link below:

Reading FC 2022/2023 Season Fixtures

Laurent And Ince Swap Clubs

22 June 2022
By Hob Nob Anyone?

Reading have been unable to retain the services of midfielder Josh Laurent who will now move to Stoke City on a free transfer as his contract expires. The club's financial position means they were unable to offer a suitable contract to Laurent who signs a three year deal with Stoke City instead. Contract negotiations continue to be difficult at Reading, as they club keep a close eye on the wage bill knowing that the League will be looking even closer. Laurent had two very impressive seasons at Reading, notching up 88 apprearances, and will be hugely missed.

However, the departure of Laurent means the club can afford to make Tom Ince's move permanent. Tom Ince, son of manager Paul Ince, also signs a three year contract after spending the end of last season on loan with the Royals. Ince made 15 appearances last season at Reading, scoring two goals, and should be a decent addition to a senior squad lacking depth next season. Ince has spent most of his career at Blackpool, Derby and Stoke but is no longer required at Stoke after they paid ten million pounds for his services four years ago.

Meanwhile goalkeeper Joe Lumley will join Reading for the 2022/2023 season on loan from Middlesbrough after spending most of last season as the club's number one. He will expect to be first choice at Reading.

There has also been good news on contract negotiations with Tom Holmes and Andy Yiadom - two vital players in the remaining squad - both signing new three year deals to keep them at Reading. Despite a large number of players out of the door, the first team squad is starting to take shape with the new season rapidly approaching.